Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

06Jul09

StrawbRhubPie_fruit

I hope everyone had a great 4th of July! It rained on us in the ADKs, but it was still nice to get away. On Saturday we went to a BBQ festival featuring $1 ribs (Buck-a-rib) where we tasted some pretty delicious BBQ. In the rain. But that’s OK. Back at home we had pie waiting for us. To me, there is no pie more summery than Strawberry Rhubarb. You can keep your blueberry pies and cherry pies, and I’ll hold off on apple ’til the fall. Summertime means Strawberry Rhubarb. Now, I’m normally not too much of a pie person. I prefer my desserts to be made of chocolate. But for a few things, I make exceptions. This summer I’ve already made this pie twice!

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie (enough for 2 pies, or 1 pie plus tarts)
6-10 stalks of Rhubarb, cut into 1/2 inch chunks
3-5 cups of Strawberries, sliced
3/4 cup Sugar
1/2 cup Flour
2 Tbsp Cinnamon
1/2 cup Flour
1/2 cup Brown Sugar
3 Tbsp Butter
For the Crust:
2 cups Flour
2 Tbsp Sugar
1 stick cold Butter (1/2 cup)
1/2 cup of Crisco
2-6 Tbsp ice cold water

StrawbRhubPie_crust

First things first, gotta make the crust. My crust recipe is from The Joy of Cooking. It’s simple, it’s quick, and it’s delicious. Joy has two or three variations on this recipe that play with the ratio of crisco to butter. I like the one that’s exactly 50:50, although the one with slightly more butter (75%) is also very good. The more crisco there is, the easier the crust will be to roll out and handle. The more butter, the more buttery-tasting flakiness. So, you pick. But either way, start with the crust first. It needs 30 min – 2 hours in the fridge before rolling out.

For the crust, I combined the dry ingredients and then added the cold butter and crisco. It helps to cut it up into pieces before adding it. Whatever you do, make sure it’s cold. Use two knives or a pastry blender (this type of thing) to work the fat into the dry ingredients. When the mixture resembles sand, with some pea-sized balls, you’re set. Drizzle 3 Tbsp of water over the mix, then using a spatula as a blade, cut the water into the mix until it forms many balls of dough. If you press down with the flat side of the spatula and the balls stick together, you’re done. If not, drizzle some more water and cut in until the dough sticks together. Separate into two parts, wrap tightly with plastic wrap, and stick in the fridge for a half hour or so.

In the meantime, get the filling ready and preheat the oven to 360. Combine the first five ingredients, through cinnamon, in a large bowl and stir to start bringing the juices out. Set aside and stir every ten minutes or so to re-combine. In another bowl, prepare the crumble topping. Combine the rest of the flour with the brown sugar and work in the cold butter similarly to the technique in making the crust.

When the crust has been refrigerated long enough, roll each ball out on a floured surface and transfer to pie pans, or muffin tins. Add the fruit, and sprinkle with the crumble topping.

If you choose to do a pie or pies, cover the edges in tin foil so that they don’t burn. Bake 25 minutes at 360, then uncover and bake another 20 minutes. For the muffin tin tarts, don’t worry about covering the edges. Bake for 35-40 minutes. Check early! Once cooled, the tarts should pop right out of the tin.

StrawbRhubPie_pie

5 Responses to “Strawberry Rhubarb Pie”

  1. oh yum!! these look so sweet and summery! I presume Crisco is a form of shortening? Must try out this crust. I made an apple pie the other day and used 100% butter crust, super flaky and super difficult to handle! urgh! :) I probably should have refrigerated it longer than the 10 mins I did though…

  2. 2 TasteStopping

    I am a confirmed chocolate fan myself, so to hear that you like this fruit-filled pie that much? Well, it makes me think I have to try it. Also, I’m not sure if you care, but I have found a great Crisco substitute at Whole Foods and Wegmans. Earth’s Best shortening, which is made with expeller pressed oils (olive, canola, etc.), so you can have the shortening without the hydrogenated oil. (If you’re interested in cutting that particular ingredient out.) I think Spectrum makes a shelf-stable shortening, too, with pressed palm fruit oil.

    Anyway, I found you on TasteSpotting and am writing to say that if you have any photos that aren’t accepted there, I’d love to publish them. Visit my new site (below), it’s a lot of fun! I hope you will consider it.

    Best,
    Casey
    Editor
    http://www.tastestopping.wordpress.com

  3. 3 Jo

    These look good! Did you make mini-pies in muffin tins??

  4. 4 katemotter

    Siobhan – Yep, Crisco is shortening! It definitely helps make the crust easier to handle and roll out. Some people use 100% shortening, but I like that butter flavor so I prefer the half and half recipe!

    Casey – Definitly try strawberry rhubarb :) It’s the best! I love Wegmans – I grew up in Central NY – but unfortunately don’t have Weggies around here. Besides, Crisco was good enough for Grandma – it’s good enough for me! But great ideas, and thank you! I’ll check out your blog for sure.

    Jo – Yes, the muffin tin worked perfectly for making the tarts! If you came here from tastespotting, that’s the image you saw :-)

  5. 5 laurance

    so yummy. Thanks to the blog.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

