Chocolate Cheesecake Surprise Cupcakes

09Jul09

ChsCkCupCk_inside

These cupcakes might be better known as “Black-Bottom Cupcakes.” But seeing as how the cheesecake in mine kind of took over, and there was no real ‘black’ left on the bottom, I prefer “Chocolate Cheesecake Surprise Cupcakes.” Just like me to go changing the name. Anyway, these bad boys were chocolatey and cheesey and all around moist. I don’t think they’re my new favorite cupcake or anything, but they were worth making once. I might tweak them to be more chocolatey next time. And definitely don’t take them out before they’re done. The cheesecake in the middle does a good job of ensuring moistness, so give ‘em plenty of time to firm up. They were fun to make, too. Just like Deviled Eggs, I really like piping stuff out of a bag… Is that weird?

ChsCkCupCk_ingredients

Chocolate Cheesecake Surprise Cupcakes (made 20 for me)
(adapted from The Beet Goes On)
For the Cupcakes:
1 1/2 cups Flour
1 cup Sugar
1/4 cup Cocoa Powder
1 tsp Baking Soda
1 cup Water
1/3 cup Veggie Oil (I didn’t have enough and added olive oil… weird I know but turned out just fine!)
1 Tbsp Cider Vinegar
1 tsp Vanilla
For the Filling:
8 oz Cream Cheese (soft/room temp)
1 Egg
1/2 cup Sugar
1 cup Mini Chocolate Chips

Pre-heat to 350. Mix the dry ingredients for the cupcakes, make a well in the center and add the wet ingredients. Mix well. The batter will be relatively thin–that’s ok. Mix the cream cheese, egg, and sugar together until light and fluffy (use a hand mixer). Then stir to add the chocolate chips. Line a muffin tin with cupcake liners, and spoon the batter in, filling each 1/3 of the way. I opted to pipe my cream cheese filling in since it was less messy and more fun, but you could just drop spoonfuls in! Bake for 20-25 minutes. Store uncovered in the fridge for up to 3 days. Or share with friends fresh out of the oven!

ChsCkCupCk_pan

This week has been crazy and I haven’t had much time to cook between going out to dinner with friends and other assorted plans. Chris and I are going out of town to a wedding this weekend so I probably won’t have much going on (except maayyyyybe a cookie post I’ve been saving?) until next week. Until then, Bon Appetit!

7 Responses to “Chocolate Cheesecake Surprise Cupcakes”

  1. 1 Amy

    This look absolutely delish!! :)

  2. 2 Cookie

    I LOVE the combination of chocolate and cream cheese! I mean, what’s not to love about it right? I usually just use a good brownie mix for the cake part and drop the cheesecake mixture in the center. They work great in a mini cupcake pan too for get togethers or sharing at work!

  3. 3 katemotter

    Amy – You won’t be disappointed if you try this :)

    Cookie – I’ll have to try that next time! I looooove brownies. Mini ones would be perfect for work!

  4. Thank you for your comment on my blog! I was looking for recipes for Black Bottom Cupcakes, and after reading many of them, I found yours was the best! Thanks for sharing, and congratulations on your wonderful blog… ;o)
    Regards from Brazil!

  5. A mate encoraged me to read this website, nice post, interesting read… keep up the cool work!

  6. 6 jordan

    OMG! This is so delish send me the recipe plaese- for school we’re doing a project and i need to make this type of stuff thanks!


  1. 1 Isuäratavaid šokolaadikooke laiast maailmast « Perenaine.ee blogi

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

