Quick Pantry Tuna Burger

22Jul09

TunaBurger_plate

Last night was one of those nights where I seriously didn’t feel inspired to make anything and there was legit nothing left in the pantry or fridge. We’d already had pasta with freezer meatballs the night before, which is our normal go-to staple. But we had to go grocery shopping, and needed to eat something first. One of my random dollar bin cookbooks lent me the inspiration for this, and the rest was up to the pantry and the dregs in the fridge! We lucked out, because this was quite tasty and I’ll definitely keep it in mind for another night like last night. I wish this photo was a tad more appetizing, because these were actually pretty yum!

Quick Pantry Tuna Burger (makes 3)
3 Deli Flats (we love the soft oatmeal)
Mayo, Red Onion slices, Tomatoes, and cheese for toppings
3 cans of Tuna, drained (I prefer the kind packed in water, not oil)
Lemon Pepper seasoning (or lemon juice and ground black pepper)
1/2 cup Onion, chopped
1/4 cup Parsley, chopped
1/2 cup Panko break crumbs
1 egg
2 Tbsp oil

Combine the tuna, lemon pepper, onion, parsley, panko and egg in a bowl. Mix well and form into patties. Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. When hot, drop in the patties. Since the protein is fully cooked, you really just want to crisp/brown the outsides. Flip when the bottom is nice and crisp. Serve with mayo and toppings on the deli flats or bread of your choice. I bet this would be good in pitas!

3 Responses to “Quick Pantry Tuna Burger”

  1. 1 Kate

    I’ve been so “blah” about cooking lately. I happen to already have these deli thins (Orowheat Sandwich thins?), and I have tuna, I have the spices. I’m making these tonight! And I think the photo looks tasty, which is why I clicked on it from Tastespotting. I bet these would be good with Wasabi Mayo.

  2. 2 Cody

    I also found your recipe via Tastespotting. This was surprisingly good. Was a bit skeptical of the deli flats, but they turned out to be quite fun.


  1. 1 10 Ways to Turn Canned Tuna into a Gourmet Meal | Yummly

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

