Moroccan Lamb Salad

24Jul09

LambSalad_plate2

I’m so sad I waited almost an entire year to try this recipe. The same issue of Real Simple that featured the Roast Chicken and Arugula Salad recipe as part of a collection of hearty salads, also featured this recipe for Moroccan Lamb Salad with Carrots and Mint. There are a couple reasons I’ve breezed by it for a year. For one, I don’t cook a lot of lamb–it’s delicious, tender, easy to cook, and available… but it’s expensive. On that account, I’m starting to come around to spending more on groceries. A nice meal with some expensive parts is still so much less than going out to eat and I’m trying to remember that when choosing recipes. Another reason is that everytime I looked at the picture, the carrots reminded me of those orange rotini pastas–of which I am not a huge fan. Well, I’m glad I finally got around to making this, because it was worth every penny, and I didn’t even mind twirling the carrot shreds like linguine, even when I did end up with dressing on my chin.

Moroccan Lamb Salad with Carrots and Mint (serves 2)
2 Lamb Steaks (boneless if your store carries them–mine doesn’t so I used bone-in chops and they were great)
1 Tsbsp Olive Oil
2 Cloves Garlic, chopped
S&P
1/3 cup Mayonnaise
2 Tbsp Fresh Lemon Juice
1/4 tsp Ground Cinnamon
1/8 tsp Cayenne Pepper (I didn’t have any and decided to throw in some cumin instead–I honestly think that made it even better)
3 Carrots, peeled
1/4 cup Fresh Mint Sprigs
1/4 cup Golden Raisins
2 Scallions, chopped

Season the lamb with the olive oil, garlic, and S&P. Grill over medium-high heat (again, we don’t *have* a grill–I borrowed this from the roomies and it was perfect) for 4 minutes per inch of thickness, per side. Rest 5 minutes before cutting into bite-size cubes. While the lamb is grilling, whisk together the mayo, lemon juice, and spices. Using the peeler, shred the carrots into long strips.

LambSalad_carrots

Add the carrots, mint, raisins and scallions to the mayo dressing. Toss to coat. Serve the carrots cold with the warm lamb on top.

Maybe this sounds funny to you, or you’re not hot on the idea of shredded carrot salad, or whatever. Do yourself a favor and don’t take a year to get over it like I did. Make this asap! You probably already have half the ingredients in the fridge. If not, I have some golden raisins you can borrow…

LambSalad_raisins

3 Responses to “Moroccan Lamb Salad”

  1. This looks amazing! I will be trying it out this weekend :-)

  2. 2 katemotter

    Stevie I hope you do! And I hope you love it!

  3. We made this recipe earlier this summer and it was great! I’m glad you enjoyed it as much as we did!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

