Roasty Toasty Spicy Pumpkin Seeds

13Oct09

PumpkinSeeds_plate

Mmm, one of the best fall treats there is. Roasted pumpkin seeds! Ever since I was a little kid carving pumpkins on the kitchen floor, I’ve known to save the seeds for this yummy snack. Over the course of the last week or so I’ve scooped out the seeds of two different pumpkins (and I haven’t even made the jack-0-lanterns yet!). I’ve made pumpkin gratin and pumpkin soup, and both times I’ve used the seeds to make this snack. Yum! It’s super easy to make and takes very little time. I’ve read ‘recipes’ that involve rinsing the seeds, letting them air-dry overnight, cleaning them individually… that’s all nice but unnecessary. I find that the easiest method also produces the yummiest seeds. Don’t rinse, just pick out as much of the pumpkin pulp as possible. But don’t let the seeds get near water! It’ll just take away the stickiness that allows the seasonings to grab on, not to mention get rid of any kind of pumpkin flavor (bad!).

Roasty Toasty Spicy Pumpkin Seeds
Seeds from whatever pumpkin you’ve just carved
Salt
Pepper
Olive Oil
Any other assorted seasonings. I used:
Garlic Powder
Cayenne Pepper
Paprika

Preheat to 400. Pick out any pumpkin pulp that remains, and dump the seeds into a mixing bowl. Season with the salt and pepper and other seasonings of your choice. Add enough olive oil so that the seeds are coated but not drenched (about 1/2 Tbsp per cup of seeds).

PumpkinSeeds_mixed

Spread the seeds on a cookie sheet in one even layer. Bake in the oven for 5-10 minutes, then stir the seeds around and bake for another 5 minutes or so. Seeds are done when they’re browned and crisp.

Stay tuned because I have developed the best pumpkin soup recipe ever. EVER. You may have seen me tweeting about it this weekend. It’s just like Au Bon Pain’s Harvest Pumpkin soup… so tasty and delicious. I can’t wait to make it again! I’ll be sharing it here with you guys ASAP!

7 Responses to “Roasty Toasty Spicy Pumpkin Seeds”

  1. Sounds yummy! It reminds me of my grandmother’s spicy crunchy pumpkin seeds. Thanks so much for sharing. Please follow me on http://danceofspices.blogspot.com/

  2. 2 Mom

    Wow, these look delish! Guess I’ll just have to go out and get a pumpkin to scoop, carve, then soup. Like your simplicity.

  3. Yummy and healthy snack!! Can season in so many ways and use to top many dishes from salads to hot meals as well. Need to go scoop some pumpkins!

  4. 4 woods4

    ooh its that time of year again isn’t it? great post, I love roasted pumpkin seeds!

  5. 5 katemotter

    Thanks everyone! Halloween is great for snacking :-)


  1. 1 Twitter Trackbacks for Roasty Toasty Spicy Pumpkin Seeds « From Ketchup To Chutney [ketchuptochutney.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com
  2. 2 Evil-Design's Blog » Roasty Toasty Spicy Pumpkin Seeds

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

