Irish Car Bomb Cupcakes

19Mar10

I know. I know. It’s been a month. I’m sorry. To make it up to you, how about this? An explanation + the best cupcake recipe out there, for St. Patty’s, (or any other time, really, let’s be serious. And yep, it’s Deb’s). Would that do it? Would you forgive me then?

Well I have lots of excuses. And maybe you’d buy one or two of them. But mainly, I’ve been busy interviewing for and transitioning to… a new job! I count myself among one of the luckiest people out there at the moment, as I received an amazing offer from a fabulous company despite the current job climate. This Friday rounds out my first week in their marketing department, and so far, so good! I couldn’t have asked for a more dedicated, motivated, intelligent, and hard-working team to become a part of. I really am very, very lucky. (Seriously though? They had me at “Homemade cookies every Friday.”) So, long story short, that’s why I haven’t been posting as often lately. But I have a good 4 or 5 posts ready to get up on here so I’ll be back in the swing of things pretty soon, I hope! I’m also getting a new computer soon which will make it 100x easier to post.

So, these cupcakes. I made them on Sunday for a friend’s Parade party (did you know the Boston St. Patrick’s Day parade is the biggest in the US? It’s quite the event.). I figured these would be perfect for the occasion, as they’re *ahem* Irish. Car Bomb. Cupcakes. Yep, like the drink. The cupcake part is made with Guinness, the ganache filling (you can see it in the middle of the unfrosted cupcakes up there) is made with Jameson (Irish whiskey), and the frosting is made with Bailey’s Irish Cream. Yum. Yum. If you’ve never done a Car Bomb drink before, basically you drop a shot of Jameson and Bailey’s into a glass of Guinness and drink it before it curdles and gets disgusting (which means you have to slam it down fast). I much prefer the cupcake. I tinted the frosting green for the day, but otherwise it’s a nice shade of tan. Every time I’ve made these they’ve been gone within minutes, and everyone always loves them, so please, do yourself a favor and make these next time you have the opportunity!

Irish Car Bomb Cupcakes (makes 20-24, from Smitten Kitchen)
1 cup Guinness
1 cup Butter (2 sticks)
3/4 cup Cocoa Powder
2 Eggs
2/3 cup Sour Cream
1 1/2 tsp Baking Soda
3/4 tsp Salt
2 cups Flour
2 cups Sugar

8 oz Bittersweet Chocolate Chips
2/3 cup Cream (I used light)
2 Tbsp Butter, room temp
2-4 tsp Jameson

4-5 cups Confectioners Sugar
3/4 cup Butter, room temp
5 Tbsp Baileys

Preheat to 350 and line a muffin tin with papers.

In a small saucepan, bring the Guinness and the butter to a simmer, then add the cocoa powder. Whisk together until smooth and set aside to cool a bit. The mixture might not come completely together and that’s OK. Just mix it the best you can and make sure there are no lumps.

Beat the eggs and sour cream together, and slowly add in the cocoa mixture, so that you don’t cook the eggs by adding all that heat at once. Beat in the baking soda and salt, and then the sugar. Stir in the flour last. The mixture should be slightly runny.

Fill the muffin cups 3/4 of the way and bake for 18 minutes or until a toothpick comes out mostly clean. You will end up scooping out the middles of the cupcakes anyway, so don’t worry too much about under-baking. You want these to be moist.

Once the cupcakes are baked and cooled, use an apple corer or other utensil to dig out the center (I actually use a cheap carrot peeler – it’s just the right size to get in there). You want to go almost to the bottom, and the hole should be about 1/2 an inch in diameter.

Now, make the ganache to fill in those holes. Heat the cream until simmering, then pour it over the chocolate chips and let them sit for a minute. The heat from the cream should be enough to melt the chips. Stir together and add in the butter and whiskey. If you need to, you can put this back over a double boiler or nuke it for a few seconds if it’s not warm enough, but try not to heat it too much more as you want it to be a little cooler to fill the cupcakes. Spoon the ganache into the holes in the cupcakes and allow to cool and set.

At this point you can freeze the cupcakes, or frost them. If you freeze them, they should last a few days, and you can take them out a couple hours before frosting them and serving them.

To make the frosting, whip the butter until it’s nice and light – definitely take the time to do this. It makes a huge difference. Add in the confectioners sugar 1-2 tablespoons at a time. Slowly. It really makes a huge difference. Once you’ve got the full 4-5 cups of sugar in there (you’ll know when to stop–when the consistency is like frosting!), add the Bailey’s. It shouldn’t make the frosting runny, but if it does, add a couple more tablespoons of confectioners sugar. If you want to dye the frosting, now is when you add in a few drops of food coloring!

Use a piping bag or a ziploc with the corner cut off to frost your cupcakes, and you’re done! Watch them disappear!

6 Responses to “Irish Car Bomb Cupcakes”

  1. I just subscribed to “From Ketchup to Chutney” yesterday because I was enthralled with the previous recipes. I didn’t even notice that the last post was a month ago, so when I saw the update just now, I thought “yippee!!” These Irish Car Bomb cupcakes look fantastic. I look forward to future updates!

  2. Totally stealing this recipe. I’ll end up posting about it soon, so when I do, I’ll link to you!

  3. “the frosting is made with Bailey’s Irish Cream”

    Uhm… yum?!! If I could guzzle Bailey’s in all forms, I would. Delivering Bailey’s to me in cupcake-form is like receiving a Christmas present on a unicorn.

  4. I badly needed some of this. This looks so delicious and what amazed me most was the Baileys on it. Definitely a great great recipe……. :D


  1. 1 Moist Chocolate Mud Cake | KATKATS KITCHEN
  2. 2 Pantry Challenge: A quick dinner from just the ingredients on hand « Johanna Elsemore

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

