Roasted Tomato Salad

12Aug10

Not only is this blog over a year old now, but I just had a birthday myself, and birthdays mean lots and lots of good food (well, if you’re me, anyway). In the last week I’ve had some amazing sushi, Italian, and Mexican, in addition to delicious crepes, and an authentic New York bagel (which was arguably the best thing I ate all weekend). While all of these meals have been amazing individually, as a whole I’m starting to get a little… well, full.

So when not one, but two recipes for Panzanella popped up in my RSS feeds this morning, I knew what was for dinner tonight. Panzanella is traditionally an Italian ‘bread salad’ made with day old crusty bread, tomatoes, olive oil, and whatever else is around the kitchen. This take is a little lighter, focusing more on the ‘salad’ than the ‘bread’, but has the ingredients and taste of a delicious Italian summer salad.

Thanks to Shannalee over at Food Loves Writing for the inspiration. The roasted tomatoes are perfect in this dish.

Roasted Tomato Salad
3-4 cups Mixed Tomatoes, sliced in half (I used plum, grape, and vine tomatoes)
Olive Oil
S&P
2 cups Ciabatta Bread, cubed
1/2 cup Mozarella, cut into bite-sized pieces
1/4 cup Basil Leaves, chopped
4 cups Romaine Lettuce
Balsamic Vinegar

Preheat to 350. Lightly coat the tomatoes in olive oil, and salt and pepper. Spread cut side up on a baking sheet, and roast for 45 minutes. Brush the bread lightly with olive oil and place on separate baking sheet. After the tomatoes have been in the oven for 45 minutes, switch to the broiler (on low), and put the tray of bread cubes on the top rack, and move the tomatoes to the bottom. Broil, watching carefully, until the bread is toasted, 7-10 minutes. Let both the bread and tomatoes cool.

Combine the cheese, basil, and lettuce in a large bowl and add the tomatoes and bread together (hot tomatoes will wilt the lettuce and basil – if you’re ok with that, then go for it. Otherwise wait for the tomatoes to cool). Toss gently with some balsamic and let the bread soak up the moisture from the tomatoes and vinegar.

4 Responses to “Roasted Tomato Salad”

  1. This looks so easy yet so tasty! I love roasted tomatoes anytime of the year, but especially during the summer when they are fresh! Happy birthday to you and the blog!

  2. I love Panzanella but have actually never made it myself! This reminded me that I need to change that!

  3. Funny! I just made panzanella myself, this looks really good I’ll have to try it!


  1. 1 hanouni

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

