Caprese Muffins

24Jul11

These muffins are the third installment of work muffins – I really love bringing muffins into work, because I get to try out all sorts of new recipes that I’ve had an eye on, and brand new ones I’ve searched out as well. Coworkers seem appreciative too, which always helps! I’ve sort of made a personal promise to bring in new and unusual muffins (or at least try to steer away from blueberry and bran and those sort), to keep things interesting (for myself, mostly!).

As you can see, these muffins are on the savory side and have a few non-traditional muffin ingredients. They’re based on the idea of a Caprese Salad, which is made with fresh mozzarella, basil, and tomatoes. The only tweak here is using sun dried tomatoes in oil instead of fresh tomatoes. I thought the fresh mozzarella pearls were perfect – although I cut them in half and then froze them so they would stand up to the heat a little better. I think that was a good move.

The muffins came out like savory moist biscuits. I love them! I could have eaten the whole batch.

Caprese Muffins (from The Kitchenarian) (makes about 18 muffins)
1.5 cups Fresh Mozzarella
5 Tbsp Basil
1 cup Sun Dried Tomatoes
3 cups Flour
3 tsp Baking Powder
3/4 tsp Baking Soda
1.5 tsp Salt
1 egg, plus 1 egg white
1.5 cups Buttermilk
3 Tbsp Oil from Sun Dried Tomatos
1.5 Tbsp Olive Oil

A few hours ahead of time, cut your mozzarella into small cubes and freeze (or freeze, then cube! Whichever you find easier.)

When ready to bake, preheat oven to 375, and line muffin pan with muffin liners.

Finely chop the basil, and chop the sun dried tomatoes. In a small dish, mix with the frozen cheese cubes and return to the freezer while you make the batter.

Sift (or pulse in a food processor) together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.

Whisk together the buttermilk, egg and egg white, and both oils. Create a well in the center of the dry ingredients and pour the wet mixture into it. Mix until just blended, then add the mozzarella mixture from the freezer.

Fill the muffin liners almost full with the batter, bake 12-15 minutes or until the cheese is melty and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Store leftover muffins in the fridge overnight.

One Response to “Caprese Muffins”

  1. Love it!
    I’m a savory person myself (my blog’s name is something savory) and these muffins sound AWESOME. I want to bring in snacks for my work more often and these would be great!

    Love your pictures too by the way!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

