Edamame Hummus

27Jun09

I love hummus, but don’t have it too often. (If we buy it, I’ll eat it all, so we don’t buy it 🙂 We had some last week at the Viens’s and I was feeling inspired. I had heard that Trader Joe’s does an Edamame Hummus and I thought that sounded interesting (although I’ve never had it or even seen it). I did a quick google and ran across a recipe for Ariel’s Chunky Edamame Hummus. I started with her ingredients, and went from there!

Edamame Hummus (makes about 2 cups)
1 bag frozen Edamame (I ended up getting the in-the-shell kind and shelling them myself)
2 tbsp Lemon Juice
1 clove Garlic
2 tsp Sesame Seed Oil
2 tbsp oil (veggie, peanut, lite olive, etc. would all work fine, choose based on choice)
1.5 tbsp Soy Sauce
S&P to taste

Throw everything in a food processor and press go! You may find you need to thin things out a bit – try adding more lemon juice or oil, or water. Taste in between and you’ll be happy with the end result.

The texture of the finished product is unlike traditional hummus, more asian inspired, due to the lack of tahini (FYI peanut butter is a great tahini substitute in traditional hummus!). It’s more gritty and less creamy than chickpea hummus. I like to be able to taste the edamame, so I used less sesame oil than Ariel. I’ll have to go check out the Trader Joe’s version soon!

One Response to “Edamame Hummus”

  1. 1 hakodatedre

    Thank you so much for this recipe! I also love hummus, but since I moved to Japan, I cannot find it anywhere; once I tried to make it the usual way, but the overall cost of the ingredients here dissuaded me. However, now I can finally have hummus and not pay an arm and a leg for it! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

