Zucchini Fritters

02Jul09

ZucchFritters_plate

I don’t usually fry stuff at home. But this blog is driving me to try new recipes and new techniques. So when I came across this recipe for Zucchini Fritters, I thought ‘Why not?’ Frying is obviously tricky, but I used to work at a restaurant where 90% of the food was fried by 18 year-old boys, so I figured I could probably tackle it. Aside from hash browns I really haven’t seriously fried much at home. I just don’t like pouring half a bottle of oil in the pan all that often. But, in the spirit of trying things out, I did this time. And ya know what? It turned out well! I think the toughest part is keeping the oil hot enough without burning. So, without further ado, I present Zucchini Fritters!

ZucchFritters_ingredients


Zucchini Fritters
(makes 8-10) (derived from this recipe)
3 Zucchini
1 Onion
1 cup Feta Cheese, crumbled
3/4 cup Dill, chopped
3 Eggs
1/4 cup Bread Crumbs
S&P
Oil for frying

The first step is to grate the zucchini (skin on) and onion. Then you have to squeeze all the moisture out of the gratings. This is hard, but important. Use your hands, paper towel(s), cheese cloths, whatever you have. I used all three. Really press the water out of the veggies. This will reduce the size of the gratings pile considerably! Next time, I might even spread the gratings on a baking sheet and stick it in the oven for a bit to dry further. Once you have the gratings all dried, combine all the ingredients (except oil) in a bowl.

ZucchFritters_prep
Using your hands, mix everything together. (At this point, my mixture was so moist, I put everything back in the cheese cloth and wrung it out again). Then form patties with the mix, just like you would with hamburgers. Fry the patties 2-3 minutes per side. Place on a paper towel to drain them of excess oil. The fritters were great with greek yogurt on top, and crusty toast. I threw some italian cherry tomato topping on the toast and the flavors went surprisingly well together. Yum! Here are some process pics in case you were wondering. Grating zucchini, wringing out the mix, forming patties, frying ’em up!

ZucchFritters_collage
After work today Chris and I are headed up to my mom’s in the Adirondacks for the long weekend. We’ll be reading, playing guitar, cooking and taking pictures. Maybe we’ll even get to hike if this weather lets up. If you’re not from New England, then you might not know that it’s been cloudy and raining for over a month now. Cloudiest June in 100 years, they keep saying. Be back on Monday! Have a great 4th of July!

2 Responses to “Zucchini Fritters”

  1. 1 ellazuri

    now these im going to make for the kids school lunches ….great idea here …thanks xxx

  2. 2 katemotter

    ellazuri – good luck! i’m sure they’ll love them 🙂


Leave a Reply

