Incredibly Moist Reese’s Cupcakes

23Jul09

ReesesCpCks_final

These were really, really good. I don’t always go for cakes/cupcakes (I’m more of a cookie/brownie girl) but some occasions call for cake-like things–like the 4th of July or a friend’s birthday. These cupcakes might make it into rotation more often, though, because they were so incredibly good. (Don’t tell anyone but I just ate another one. It’s 10:30am.) They lack the dry/cakey trademark of your average Betty Crocker cake, and were more fudgey and moist almost like a brownie. You’ll see why in a minute. I know that cupcakes are the trend du jour, and not to hop on that bandwagon or anything (I still love my cookies…), but these things are so darn cute that I’m starting to understand it. Plus, you know how I feel about the chance to pipe batter, dough, and frosting into or onto something. Love it. (Is that weird?)

Incredibly Moist Reese’s Cupcakes (makes 16 or so)
for the cupcakes: (thank you, Shelby Mae‘s Granny!)
2 cups Flour
1 cup Sugar
2 tsp Baking Soda
6-7 Tbsp Cocoa
1 cup Mayonnaise (this is the key! I used light mayo and it was great)
1 cup Water
1 tsp Vanilla
for the frosting: (from the Food Network)
6-8 Reese’s Cups, frozen and cut into sixths
1 cup Smooth Peanut Butter
1 cup Confectioners Sugar
5 Tbsp Butter, room temp
1 tsp Vanilla
1/3 cup Heavy Cream (I only had half & half… turned out fine. the PB is enough to keep the frosting stiff)

Cupcakes:
Mix/sift/wisk the dry ingredients together. Add the mayo, water, and vanilla all at once and stir until smooth. (Did I mention this recipe was EASY?) Line muffin tins with cupcake liners, and fill 1/2 way (you can pipe it in if you want to avoid a mess!). Bake 20-25 minutes at 350. Allow the cupcakes to cook completely before frosting.

Frosting:
Beat together the peanut butter, sugar, butter, and vanilla until light and fluffy. A hand beater is fine. Slowly add the cream a little at a time and continue to beat until peaks are stiff. Chill a little before piping onto the cupcakes. Stick 3-4 pieces of the Reese’s cups in each cupcake. Refrigerate until ready to serve.

These will last 2-3 days in the fridge. (But if you’re like me they’ll be gone by Day 2!)

3 Responses to “Incredibly Moist Reese’s Cupcakes”

  1. Yes! Kudos for embracing the mayo. It really does yield the most tantalizingly moist cake. These look incredible!

  2. 2 katemotter

    thanks Jessie! I can’t wait to try your s’mores brownies πŸ˜‰

  3. 3 Jillian

    I have on my list of things to try this week -Peanut Butter and Chocolate Cupcakes!

    sorry don’t mean to overwhelm you with comments, but I’m excited looking at some of your delicious recipes! πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

