Ants on a Tree

06Aug09

AntsOnATree_plate

“Ants on a Tree.” Sure, I’ll try it. And glad we did! YUM! This is a spicy/savory fried pork dish that’s Szechuan in origin but I’ll admit I totally had my way with it! Threw in a little of this, and a little of that. I think the important flavors here (aside from pork & vermicelli/bean threads) were the scallions, the garlic/ginger combo, and the white wine. This dish is probably authentically a lot spicier than I made it, and either way I think would be good. I think with less fire, you could taste more of the delicate flavors that I ended up throwing in there. This is super quick, tasty, and easy. And on a hot busy day I am all about that. Plus it left me time to make peanut butter cookies with a yummy nutella center (more on those later!).

Ants on a Tree (serves 3, my version)
1 pkg Bean Threads (~100g)
1 lb Ground Pork
1 1/2 tsp Soy Sauce
1 Tbsp Rice Wine Vinegar
1 Tbsp Oil
1 Tbsp Ginger, grated
1 clove Garlic, grated
1/2 – 1 Tbsp Spicy Chili Sauce (I used Sriracha)
1 Tsp Sugar
1/4 cup Water
1 tsp Soy Sauce
S&P
1/8 – 1/4 cup White Wine
1 bunch Scallions, trimmed, chopped

First, mix the soy sauce and vinegar together, and stir the pork into that, letting it ‘marinate’ for 15 minutes or so. Boil water for the bean threads. When boiling, throw in the bean threads for 30 seconds. Afterwards, submerge in cold water to cool and let rest there. Heat the oil in a wok, and add the ginger and garlic. When browned, add the chili sauce and the pork mixture. When the pork has cooked almost all the way, add in the sugar, water, more soy sauce, and plenty of salt and pepper. Toss on the bean threads and stir to incorporate. Pour in the wine, cover and cook over medium heat another minute or two (or three). Stir in the scallions and serve!

No Responses Yet to “Ants on a Tree”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

