Peanut Butter Nutella Stuffed Cookies

09Aug09

NutellaCks_board

By the time this is posted, I’ll be on Long Island soaking up the sun with friends for the weekend. Happy Birthday to me!

Holy moly, these are GOOD! This recipe is definitely a keeper. Now, I love nuts and I love chocolate and I LOVE cookies…. Um… excuse me while I go grab another one of these… As I was saying! These are GOOD. I found the recipe for these little guys here. Nutella is possibly on my list of top 5 favorite foods (lets see: pasta, bolognese sauce, cheese, Nutella, Coke Zero. yup.). Cookies are right up there too, so combined? Delish. These were a little tricky to make, and the process wasn’t made any easier by my oven breaking down (ugh… I can’t go there just yet…). But they’re worth it! Even though your hands and kitchen may get covered in sticky peanut butter…

Peanut Butter Nutella Stuffed Cookies (makes 18-20)
1/2 cup Butter, room temp
1/2 cup Sugar
1/2 cup Brown Sugar
1 egg
1 tsp Vanilla
1/2 cup Peanut Butter
1 1/2 cup Flour
1/2 tsp Baking Soda
1 tsp Salt
For the Filling:
1/4 cup Peanut Butter
1/4 cup Nutella
1/2 tsp Salt
1 Tbsp Cocoa
3 Tbsp Sugar
3 Tbsp Powdered Sugar
For the Topping:
1/4 cup Peanuts (run through the food processor)
1/4 cup Sugar
1/2 tsp Cinnamon
1/2 tsp Salt

Cream the butter and sugars together, and then add the egg and mix. Stir in vanilla and peanut butter, when incorporated, add flour and salt. Refrigerate for an hour or so while you make the filling and topping.

For the filling, combine all ingredients and mix until creamy. You should be able to roll little balls of the filling in your hands. If it’s too sticky, add some more powdered sugar. Grind the topping ingredients together and place in a shallow bowl.

Preheat to 375. When the cookie dough is chilled enough, take 1 Tbsp of dough and roll into a flat disc. If the dough is way too sticky, ad a little more flour. Place a ball of filling in the middle, and another 1 Tbsp disc of dough on top. Roll between hands to form one big ball. Roll this in the topping, then place onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Press with your fingers to flatten slightly. Repeat! Bake at 375 for 8-12 minutes. Remove and let cool on the cookie sheet before transfering to a cooling rack.

NutellaCks_leaning



16 Responses to “Peanut Butter Nutella Stuffed Cookies”

  1. These look so unbelievably amazing! What a great idea!! Love the blog, by the way.

  2. oh my heavens girl! these are killer!! love that inside, I mean that’s what it’s all about.

  3. Wow, these look great! I absolutely love Nutella, and pairing it up with peanut butter is awesome.

  4. oh my. sold!

    cheers,

    *heather*

  5. Yummy!!!

  6. Forget peanut butter and chocolate. Peanut butter and Nutella definitely top that — big-time!

  7. 7 katemotter

    Thanks everyone!! These cookies really were amazing, I’d highly recommend trying them out if you’re up to it… just be prepared to get sticky šŸ˜‰

  8. 8 Pam

    Love this! Do you think I could sub the cookie dough for a store bought dough? I’m a terribly inexperienced baker and a bit short on time but would love to make this..

  9. 9 katemotter

    Pam – you might be able to substitute peanut butter cookie dough for the outside, but you’d have to make the filling and the topping yourself šŸ˜‰ let us know how it goes!

  10. 10 Pam

    Thanks a load Kate! Will test this weekend šŸ™‚

  11. you got me at “peanut butter” and then when I saw “nutella” … oh my!

  12. 12 Pam

    I tried this tonight with store bought dough, unfortunately they came out too hard/crispy.. Not sure if I can blame the dough though – I’m a terrible terrible baker haha. Will try this again following your recipe some time soon!

  13. 13 Kelley

    How many cookies does one batch make?! Thanks!


  1. 1 Nutella Stuffed Peanut Butter Cookies « Red Beans and Whipped Cream
  2. 2 Nutella Stuffed Peanut Butter Cookies « Are Yu Hungry?
  3. 3 Canonical list of Nutella recipes | My Blog

Leave a comment